Arizona Personal Injury Laws
My AZ Lawyers Personal Injury attorneys know the Arizona Personal Injury laws. They have full knowledge of which laws apply in cases of injury or accident in Arizona.
Arizona Statute of Limitations on Injury Lawsuits
Arizona does have time limits on injury lawsuits. A law known as the “statute of limitations” sets a limit of time to bring an injury case to the court. Any case that is filed in court after an injury or an accident is affected by this statute. To file a lawsuit in relation to a personal injury in Arizona, a person has two years. Typically, the two year period is from the time of the accident. Sometimes injuries aren’t discovered until after the accident, so it is possible that the time limit may start later than the date of the accident.
Auto Insurance Laws In Arizona
Arizona uses an at-fault system when determining how to handle vehicle injury and accident cases. Having auto insurance is a mandate in the state of Arizona. Individuals driving in Arizona without insurance are subject to penalty as they are breaking the law. Arizona Auto Insurance Laws do offer some room for negotiations in settlement for the driver found at fault.
Arizona does have a mandatory amount of insurance required for individuals driving in AZ. The mandatory insurance applies to all vehicles including (but not limited to): motorcycles, ATV’s, mopeds, and golf carts. There are absolute minimum levels of mandated coverage for Arizona drivers. These insurance minimums are: $10,000 in property damage liability. Bodily injury damages for one (1) person is $15,000 and for two (2) people or more the liability limit is $30,000.
Arizona Dog Bite Rules
Arizona has specific statues that make a dog owner “strictly liable” if their dog injures someone. Regardless of any past behavior of the animal, a dog owner is responsible for any personal injury caused by the dog. In other states, dog owners are protected from liability somewhat and to some degree. Arizona has a “strict” liability law for dog bites or attack cases.
Arizona Damage Caps
Arizona does not have any caps on damages in personal injury cases. Many states limit the amount of compensation an injured person can receive in specific cases. This “damage cap” usually applies for certain types of injury or harm, and is different depending on the state.
ARIZONA PERSONAL INJURY FAQs
FREquently asked questions about arizona personal injury
Your Arizona Accident Lawyers answer many of the frequently asked questions regarding Accident and Personal Injury Laws in Arizona. Contact our experienced Injury Attorneys with any further questions.
Get In Touch with Us